Barton’s Boyd named Conference Carolinas Freshman of Year and all-conference

Barton’s Boyd named Conference Carolinas Freshman of Year and all-conference

by Benny Benton

GAFFNEY, S.C. – Barton College's Brianna Boyd has been named the Conference Carolinas Freshman of the Year in women's soccer as well as All-Conference Carolinas Third Team, the league announced Friday.

The Perrysburg, Ohio, resident becomes the first player in Barton's NCAA Division II history to earn the league's award for top freshman. Boyd was honored during a ceremony at Limestone College, site of the 2016 Conference Carolinas Tournament semifinals and finals.

Boyd scored a team-high five goals against conference competition and also contributed two of her three assists during league play. She scored three of those goals in a four-match stretch, including game-winners on the road at Emmanuel College and Erskine College.

In doing so, she helped the Lady Bulldogs place fifth in the conference standings, the team's highest league finish since 2013.

Boyd was also Barton's lone representative on the All-Conference Carolinas teams. A total of 33 players were chosen to the three squads, with Boyd claiming one of three spots among forwards on the third team.

Conference Carolinas Women's Soccer Awards

Player of the Year
Megan O'Connor, Limestone 

Defensive Player of the Year
Ashton Bowles, Limestone 

Freshman of the Year
Brianna Boyd, Barton 

Coach of the Year
Matt Smith, Limestone

All-Conference First-Team
Megan O'Connor, Limestone – Forward
Cierra Skyers, Belmont Abbey – Forward
Kendyl Baird, King – Forward
Holly Rawcliffe, Limestone- Midfielder
Paula Doran, King – Midfielder
Sydney Pluhacek, Belmont Abbey – Midfielder
Ashton Bowles, Limestone – Defender
Rachel Coutinho, Belmont Abbey – Defender
Naiara Kapstein, Limestone – Defender
Madeline Gadd, Pfeiffer – Defender
Meredith Bailey, Limestone – Goalkeeper

Women's All-Conference Second-Team
Ryanna Hammond, Pfeiffer – Forward
Aryana Harvey, Pfeiffer- Forward
Kara Garrett, King – Forward
Nicole Doolittle, Converse – Forward
Kooba Richard, Belmont Abbey – Midfielder
Alex Marquez, Converse – Midfielder
Cheyenne Warrick, Lees-McRae – Midfielder
Ali Bowles, Limestone – Defender
Haley Cook, King – Defender
Kat Laughlin, Belmont Abbey – Defender
Alexis Feely, Lees-McRae - Goalkeeper 

Women's All-Conference Third-Team
Alex Mathis, Limestone – Forward
Brae Buster, Pfeiffer – Forward
Brianna Boyd, Barton – Forward
Kat Kelley, Pfeiffer – Midfielder
Mary Beth Hervig, Limestone – Midfielder
Allie Winglosky, Limestone – Midfielder
Lily Troyano, Southern Wesleyan – Midfielder
Emily Barry, Converse – Defender
Rebecca Coutinho, Converse – Defender
Lindsay Curtis, King – Defender
Kaitlyn Paul, Belmont Abbey - Goalkeeper