Barton’s Plane and Broome selected to men’s golf all-conference team

Barton’s Plane and Broome selected to men’s golf all-conference team

by Benny Benton

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Barton College sophomore Justin Plane and junior Travis Broome have been named to the 2017 Conference Carolinas Men's Golf All-Conference Team, the league announced Saturday.

Plane, a resident of Whitby, Canada, was chosen to the Second Team in a vote of the league's coaches, while Broome, a resident of Virginia Beach, Va., was selected to the Third Team.

Their selections extend an impressive streak for the men's golf program, as Barton has placed at least one player on the all-conference squad in every season since the school joined the NCAA Division II ranks in 1995.

In eight tournament starts this season, Plane has earned a top-10 finish in four of them, the third-best total in the league. He ranks fourth in the conference in top-five finishes with three, highlighted by a runner-up showing in the Barton Invitational at Northgreen. He posted a 73.6 stroke average for the season, which led the Bulldogs and ranked among the league's top-10.

Broome competed in 10 tournaments this year, posting a season stroke average of 73.88 over a team-high 26 rounds. Broome recorded two top-10 finishes, both of them also top 5s. His highest finish was a third-place finish behind Plane in the tourney at Northgreen. He has been a model of consistency this season, as he enters the league tourney with a streak of seven consecutive top-15 finishes.

Both players carded low rounds of 67 during the season, Plane at the Northgreen event and Broom at the State Farm Intercollegiate.

The all-conference honor is the first for both players.

Conference Carolinas Men's Golf Awards

Player of the Year

Nick Stafford, Belmont Abbey

Freshman of the Year

Jacob Scruggs, Belmont Abbey

Coach of the Year

Zack Siefert, Limestone

All-Conference First Team

Nick Stafford, Belmont Abbey
Filip Sandberg, Limestone
Seth Robertson, North Greenville
Zach Weaver, Pfeiffer
Evan Gfeller, North Greenville

All-Conference Second Team

Cabrick Waters, Limestone
Ty Campbell, Southern Wesleyan
John Thatch, Mount Olive
Will Woodward, Limestone
Justin Plane, Barton

All-Conference Third Team

Nick Adams, Mount Olive
Travis Broome, Barton
Jacob Scruggs, Belmont Abbey
Briar Herd, Southern Wesleyan
Arthutayapong Sripatrprasite, King