Barton’s Hawke receives league’s highest honor, Murphy Osborne Award

Barton’s Hawke receives league’s highest honor, Murphy Osborne Award

by Cory Guinn

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Barton College baseball player Calvin Hawke has been named the recipient of the 2016-17 Conference Carolinas Murphy Osborne Award, the league's highest individual honor.

Hawke was selected from a field of 11 nominees, and he is the third winner of the award from Barton. Jamie McFadden (women's basketball and volleyball) won the award in 2003-04 and Sandeep Mulay (men's tennis) won the award following the 1991-92 season.

"Calvin has worked very hard at Barton College for four years to be recognized as the highest achieving student-athlete in Conference Carolinas for the 2016-17 year." Barton's Director of Athletics Todd Wilkinson said. "He is a great students, great player and leader. Barton College has been fortunate to have Calvin as a member of the student body and baseball roster and we look forward to his representation as an alumnus."

The Murphy Osborne Award is given to the most outstanding senior conference student-athlete each academic year. Student-athletes are nominated based on academic, athletic, leadership and service and community excellence.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be a senior with a minimum grade-point average of 3.25. The student-athlete must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, have been a full-time student for at least two years at the member school, and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport. The recipient is selected by the faculty athletics representatives of Conference Carolinas institutions and represents the best-of-the-best for the league.

On the diamond, Hawke, an infielder, has been a four-year starter for the Bulldogs, leading them to over 90 total wins and two appearances in the conference tournament. He ranks inside the program's Top 10 for career batting average (.363), hits (208), triples (6) and stolen bases(45), while also being among the all-time leaders in numerous single season categories.

"I couldn't be more proud of Calvin and his reception of this honor," said head baseball coach Josh Simmons. "He, without question, encompasses everything the Murphy Osborne Award represents. You will not find a better student, better athlete, nor better person to get this award."

Career academic and athletic awards for Hawke include: 2016 second team all-conference, 2016 conference scholar-athlete of the year, and a six-time conference presidential honor roll and Barton dean's list member.

Off of the field, Hawke has compiled a 3.97 GPA as a business administration and mathematics double-major, and is a member of Barton's Sigma Beta Delta chapter (Business Honors Society) and Alpha Chi society (Academic Honors Society). He was also selected as Chief Marshal and was chosen to represent Conference Carolinas as one of two athletes able to attend the NCAA Student-Athlete Leadership Forum and participate in the NCAA's 360 Leadership Academy.

Hawke's off-campus activities include working with Wilson's Diversified Opportunities as a part of Barton's Day of Service and volunteering at the annual Halloween Fall festival at First Pentecostal Church.

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference headquartered in High Point, NC. Member schools are located in North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. The lists of schools includes Barton, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Erskine College, Emmanuel (Ga.) College, King (Tenn.) University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University and Southern Wesleyan University.

Conference Carolinas is built upon the idea of offering challenging NCAA competition in an environment that fosters both the academic and athletic achievements of its student-athletes. Conference members are small, private institutions that offer exemplary educations and scholarships for performance in the classroom and on the field. Conference Carolinas and its members are committed to challenging adversity and building tomorrow's leaders.